Preview: Chouk Bwa – UK Tour (UK-wide; Wednesday 21st February to Friday 9th March 2018)

Chouk Bwa

There are only a few countries in the world that can boast the same cultural richness as Haiti. At the same time, there are also few places suffering as much as the Caribbean nation. These two reasons should be enough to move you to support and enjoy Chouk Bwa’s UK-tour (organised by Making Tracks) hitting the road in a few days’ time.

The 7-piece band is one of the last torchbearers of Haitian Vodou. The artists manage to revive and express the sounds, rhythms, dances, and rituals of their country’s African heritage, bringing forward a more contemporary perspective, called Mizik Rasin.

In case you think you’ll discover a show lost in the mists of time and stranded in a centuries-old tradition, you’ll be amazed by the innovative almost experimental take that Chouk Bwa have on their roots.

An 11-leg England tour (kicking off in little more than two weeks’ time) means that wherever you live, you won’t be too far from a Chouk Bwa stop-over where you’ll have the rare opportunity to be “possessed” by the Vodou spirit.

Wed 21 Feb @ NCEM; York

Thu 22 Feb @ Sage Gateshead; Gateshead

Fri 23 Feb @ The Stables; Milton Keynes

Sat 24 Feb @ Junction; Cambridge

Sun 25 Feb @ Rich Mix; London

Mon 26 Feb @ The Apex; Bury St Edmunds

Tue 27 Feb @ Colston Hall; Bristol

Wed 28 Feb @ University of Sheffield

Thu 01 Mar @ RWCMD; Cardiff 

Sat 03 Mar @ Performing Arts Centre; Lincoln

Fri 09 Mar @ Pontio Bangor

Events By This Artist

Date Event name City/Town Venue
25 Feb Chouk Bwa Libète @ Rich Mix London Rich Mix

Content Related To This Artist

News: Chouk Bwa & the Ångstromers – Electric Mambo

From the depths of Haitian raisin mizik to the electronic ones… We are pretty excited to feature “Electric Mambo“, the first single & video from Chouck Bwa’s new project released with Brussels electro duo The Ångstromers. Together they reinterpreted the Voodoo tradition enriching the already high-flavoured Afro-Caribbean rhythms with modular…

Artists: Chouk Bwa , Chouk Bwa & The Ångstromers , Chouk Bwa Libète , The Ångstromers



There are no comments

Add yours

Get an exclusive FREE compilation album each month compiled by us
Just sign up to our FREE monthly newsletter
Your e-mail address will not be passed on to anyone!
Never display this again