In Conversation with Lido Pimienta / FLAWA at Home

lido flawa coversation

FLAWA talks to flamboyant Colombian-Canadian artist Lido Pimienta about her new album ‘Miss Colombia’. Join us in Zoom or for the FB live stream on Thursday 11 June at 7PM UK time / 2PM EST Canada / 1PM Colombia.

We are joined by the celebrated, controversial, Colombian-Canadian artist and Polaris-Prize winner, Lido Pimienta, who explores identity, motherhood, and gender in her polyrhythmic sound. Her new album Miss Colombia analyses her complex relationship to her birth country through different Colombian rhythms and urban sounds and specifically explores Afro-Colombian palenque music.

Content Related To This Artist

Album Review: Lido Pimienta – Miss Colombia [ANTI-; April 2020]

What if Frida Kahlo did Instagram? Or if Sun Ra gave cumbia the astral treatment? Well it would probably look and sound like Lido Pimienta and her grower of a new album, Miss Colombia. The title is a reference to the super awkward Miss Universe moment of 2015, when the…

Artists: Lido Pimienta


There are no comments

Add yours


There are no comments

Add yours