Playlist: Discover the “New World” of Megatronic (December 2020)

megatronic 2

New label, new project and New World… We are always excited when new music projects come to life, and we can’t welcome them enough, especially when their creators are people who care about music and know tons about it, as well as being good old friends of Rhythm Passport.

If you follow us, you are probably already familiar with the Turntables on the Hudson series launched by Nickodemus back in 1999. Since August, the exhilarating global beats club nights happening on the Hudson bank in New York, have mutated into label form, becoming an even dancier version of the well-established sister project Wonderwheel Recordings.

To bless the new journey undertaken by Nickodemus, we are thrilled to introduce you to one of the first releases of TOTH, the fresh-out-of-the-oven EP by London born-and-bred singer/songwriter, DJ and producer (as well as former member of Black Cherry) Megatronic.

The musician, who’s based between the British capital, London; New York; and Dubai, where she launched a platform to support female musicians called Female First Sessions, started to produce and release music when she was 20. Since then, Megane (her real name) has shaped her very own sound based on her African roots, London experiences and musical listenings ranging from funk to disco and soul to electronica. So much so that New World is a blend of Afro-house, global dance and electro-pop with an explicit clubby attitude.

Setting words aside for a moment, we have the pleasure to introduce you to Megatronic and her music in an even more engaging way, through a playlist she prepared for us featuring some of her distant past and most recent music influences…

Bongo Bonga (feat. Enrie Becquer) (Afro Mix)

Provided to YouTube by Union Records Bongo Bonga (feat. Enrie Becquer) (Afro Mix) · Peppe Citarella · Mijangos · Enrie Becquer · Giuseppe Citarella Bongo Bonga (feat. Enrie Becquer) ℗ Union Records Released on: 2019-07-19 Auto-generated by YouTube.

Keinemusik (Rampa, Adam Port, &ME) - Muyè

Get 'You Are Safe‘, the debut album by Keinemusik (Rampa, Adam Port, &ME), via: Bandcamp - iTunes - Beatport - Vinyl - Follow the Keinemusik ‚The Party is Over‘ playlist on Spotify #Keinemusik #Muye

Minnie Riperton - Les Fleurs

From The Album 'Come to my Garden' 1970.

Donny Hathaway - Jealous Guy [Studio Version]

Never let this man be forgotten, NEVER!

Orange Blossom - Habibi

Orange Blossom - Habibi album: Everything must change (2005) Orange Blossom est un groupe nantais, dont le style se situe entre la musique électronique pure,trip hop et la world music d'influences arabe et occidentale. Orange Blossom est le fruit de la rencontre musicale, en 1993, de PJ Chabot (violon) et Jay C. (percussions et chant). Au début de l'année 1994, Éric (orgue) intègre le groupe. Le groupe se stabilise en 1995 avec l'arrivée de Carlos Robles Arenas à la batterie et au djembé (il s'occupera également des samples), puis le départ d'Éric. Les influences musicales revendiquées par le groupe sont alors Transglobal Underground, Tricky, Minimal Compact et Tindersticks 1. Après deux cassettes audio auto-produites, leur premier album, Orange Blossom, sort en mai 1997 sur le label Prikosnovénie et se vend à 15000 copies. Avant la sortie du second album, le groupe subit plusieurs influences, notamment dans le domaine des musiques éthniques et traditionnelles. Ils rencontrent et collaborent avec plusieurs artistes étrangers, comme le percussionniste Yelemba d'Abidjan ou le collectif égyptien Ganoub, avant de se lancer dans une tournée en Égypte, en France et en Belgique. Mais, le chanteur Jay C. n'adhère plus à ces influences et se sépare du groupe en 2000 pour créer Prajna. En 2001, Mathias Vaguenez (percussionniste) et Leila Bounous (chanteuse) se joignent aux deux autres musiciens2. Le groupe travaillera durant deux ans sur un nouvel album, Everything Must Change, qui est sorti le 28 février 2005 sur le label Bonsaï Music.

Owiny Sigoma Band - Nyiduonge Drums

Owiny Sigoma Band - Nyiduonge Drums. Click here to subscribe: Welcome to the official Brownswood Recordings YouTube channel. Brownswood Recordings is the independent label belonging to the DJ and broadcaster Gilles Peterson. Founded in 2006 the aim of the label was to provide a platform for the many unsigned artists that were sending their music to Gilles to play on his late night BBC Radio 1 show. Visit the official website: Follow on Spotify: Follow on SoundCloud: Like on Facebook: Follow on Twitter: +1 on Google Plus: Owiny Sigoma Band - Nyiduonge Drums Digital Release 30/12/13 12" available now (free mp3 downloads included) Brownswood Store // Juno Records // Piccadilly Records // Follow Owiny Sigoma Band: Twitter // Facebook //

Africando - Yaye Boy (audio)

ÉCOUTEZ l'album entier sur YouTube : ÉCOUTEZ / TÉLÉCHARGEZ "Sabador, Vol.2": ► Plus d'infos sur l'album ↓TRACKLIST↓ 1 Sabador 2 Xale Bile 3 Yay Boy 4 Sama Thiely 5 N'Diambaane 6 Sama Rew 7 Tierra Tradicional (Remix) 8 Doley Mbolo (Remix) Arranged By – Boncana Maiga Producer – Ibrahim Sylla Year - 1994 ▷ Abonnez-vous à Syllart Records : ✔ Likez #Syllart sur FACEBOOK -

Drummotions (Original Mix)

Provided to YouTube by Label Worx Ltd Drummotions (Original Mix) · Caiiro 10 Years Of NuLu ℗ NULU MUSIC Released on: 2019-04-05 Composer: Various Artists Auto-generated by YouTube.

Everybody Loves The Sunshine

Provided to YouTube by Universal Music Group Everybody Loves The Sunshine · Takuya Kuroda · José James Rising Son ℗ 2013 Blue Note Records Released on: 2014-01-01 Producer, Associated Performer, Vocals: José James Studio Personnel, Recording Engineer, Mix Engineer: Brian Bender Studio Personnel, Asst. Recording Engineer: Jon Anderson Studio Personnel, Asst. Recording Engineer: Taft Mashburn Studio Personnel, Asst. Recording Engineer: Owen Mulholland Studio Personnel, Asst. Recording Engineer: Todd Carder Studio Personnel, Mastering Engineer: Nathan James Associated Performer, Trumpet: Takuya Kuroda Associated Performer, Synthesizer: Kris Bowers Associated Performer, Bass ( Vocal): Solomon Dorsey Associated Performer, Drums: Nate Smith Composer Lyricist: Roy Ayers Auto-generated by YouTube.

Cuartero - Al son de Faroa (Original Mix)

Download on Beatport : Download on iTunes: Join us on Facebook : Follow us on Twitter : Join us on G+ : Wow ! Recordings is proud to present Cuartero, a Young spanish Producer which has an incredible future. After its succes of his track « El Africano » on Witty tunes hère we have his new release for Wow ! The remix is from another spanish Producer, Hector Couto, one of the most cool producers of the moment. FEEDBACKS : Sem Thomasson : 'Will try! Thanks' Andreas Tatzreiter : 'Pretty damn essential stuff!' davide squillace : 'Good STUFF!!' Ralph Joseph S. Roy : 'this is deep house at its best....' Ricardo da Costa : 'wicked groove' johnny fiasco : 'Nice textures floating on a groove!' M.A.N.D.Y. : 'thank you for good music!' Karotte : 'original is a goody. will play this' LouLou Players : 'hecto couto remix for me , thanks a lot !' Dubfire : 'thanks!' johnny fiasco : 'Dope! Deep chuggin vibe'

Watch the full playlist:

There are no comments

Add yours